Modify

Ticket #276 (closed defect: wontfix)

Opened 4 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

After running syncdb, synchronized apps are shown as not synced

Reported by: valimaa.jukka@… Owned by: andrew
Priority: major Milestone:
Component: commands Version: 0.6.2
Keywords: syncdb Cc:

Description

When running south-enhanced syncdb without extra parameters, the user gets two lists of apps: "Synced" and "Not synced (use migrations)". The first includes all the apps in INSTALLED_APPS that have not been set up to use south. The "Not synced" group includes all the apps that have been set up to use south - even if 'migrate' has been run for them just before syncdb.

Attachments

Change History

comment:1 Changed 4 years ago by andrew

  • Status changed from new to closed
  • Resolution set to wontfix

That's just the wording - all it's saying is that they've not been run through syncdb. If you want to do both steps in one, use:

./manage.py syncdb --migrate 

And that will migrate and sync in one command, and rename that second list to "migrated".

comment:2 Changed 4 years ago by anonymous

I found this confusing as well. I thought there was something wrong when syncdb said "not synced". Maybe have the replacement syncdb check to see if the apps are current and then just say "Migrated".

comment:3 Changed 3 years ago by anonymous

I also found this very confusing. I think a simple wording change to:

"applications managed with Django syncdb"
"applications managed with south"

or something similar would have made life better.

comment:4 Changed 3 years ago by andrew

I've improved the wording a little in [613bd8aa36d0].

comment:5 Changed 3 years ago by gelonida@…

What would make the page much less ambitious would be.
"applications managed with Django syncdb"
"applications managed with south"

and additionally some comment mentioning, whether there is anything to migrate.

This would be basically adding sime functionality of migrate --list into the 'syncdb' command.

View

Add a comment

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.